Skip to content ↓
The Buckingham School

The Buckingham School

Duke of Edinburgh Award

What is the Duke of Edinburgh (DofE)

A life-changing experience -  a fun time with friends - an opportunity to discover new interests and talents and a tool to develop essential skills for life and work.

A recognised mark of achievement; respected by employers. 14-24 year-olds can do a DofE programme at one of three progressive levels which, when successfully completed, leads to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. There are four sections to complete at Bronze and Silver level and five at Gold. They involve helping the community/environment, becoming fitter, developing new skills, planning, training for and completing an expedition and, for Gold only, working with a team on a residential activity.

Through a DofE programme young people have fun, make friends, improve their self-esteem and build confidence. They gain essential skills and attributes for work and life such as resilience, problem-solving, team-working, communication and drive, enhancing Cvs and uni and job applications. Top employers recognise the work-ready skills Award holders bring to their business.  

At The Buckingham School we currently offer all three levels of the Duke of Edinburgh Award. Students are offered the opportunity to complete the Bronze Award in Year 9, Silver in Year 10 and Gold in Year 12 and 13.

Bronze Award Timescales 

Silver Award Timescales 

Gold Award Timescales 

To find out more about the DofE programme, please click here