Skip to content ↓
The Buckingham School

The Buckingham School


The school Governing Board consists of a number of individuals, as outlined below. They represent a broad spectrum of occupations and experience bringing an invaluable contribution to the leadership of The Buckingham School.

It is the Governing Board's responsibility to review the vision, strategic aims and strategies to be followed to ensure the school's ongoing improvements are on-track. It formally endorses the ambition to create a school that meets the needs of students and the local community and has recognisable, distinctive and unique features. The Governing Board has a strong vision for the school's continued growth and improvement and has developed a strategy to ensure success. It holds the school to account through careful monitoring of progress with the School Improvement Plan and evaluation of the impact of improvement activities.

The Full Governing Board meets each term and has three Committees that meet throughout the academic year.

They are:

  • Finance & Resources: (meets twice a term) – responsible for financial management, staffing, premises and health and safety.
  • Curriculum: (meets every term) – responsible for the planning & delivery of the curriculum.
  • Performance: (meets every term) – responsible for the performance of the leadership & management, staff and students

There are two Governor panels that meet twice a year:

  • The Headteacher’s Performance Management Panel of three Governors meets to review and agree the performance management objectives and to conduct a mid-year review of progress towards these objectives. The committee is supported by an external adviser.
  •  The Pay Review Committee meets to review the performance management processes & consider pay recommendations from the Headteacher and to conduct a mid-year review of teachers’ progress towards performance objectives.

The Governors roles and responsibilities are detailed below with a link to the right explaining School Governance. Governors can be contacted via the school or the clerk.

Parent Governors

  • Christopher Allum
  • Brendan Bulfin
  • Adam Sullivan
  • Sriantha Perera

Co-opted Governors

  • Andy Crossey - Chair, Sixth Form, Health & Safety, Educational Visits
  • Karen Herring - Safeguarding 
  • Aamir Noordin
  • Eileen Northey
  • Two Co-opted Governor vacancy


Associate Member

  • Mr Roger Newall - Premises, Site Projects

Staff Governors

  • Mrs Aimee Dovbenko

Local Authority Governor

  • One Local Authority vacancy 

Headteacher Governor

  • Mr Andrew McGinnes - Headteacher

Clerk to Governors

  • Mrs Rebecca Weymouth - Development

Please click here to see the Committee Grid for Governor details, including full name, term of office (including start and end dates)