Skip to content ↓
The Buckingham School

The Buckingham School

The English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate (EBacc), although not a qualification in itself, is at the heart of our curriculum in Key Stage 3. When in KS4, students gain the Baccalaureate if they attain 9-5 grades in:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Two qualifying Sciences (including Computing)
  • A Modern Foreign Language – such as French or Spanish
  • Geography or History

The advice to students is to consider this when choosing their options.  If it is an appropriate combination of courses suited to them, students need to ensure they choose one Modern Foreign Language (MFL) and either History or Geography as part of their options.  If students do not feel they want to study these subjects, they can choose any of the other subjects listed in those option blocks as appropriate. We actively promote the curriculum to students who are Most Able, have aspirations of University, or have previously attained well in all the qualifying subjects.