Skip to content ↓
The Buckingham School

The Buckingham School

Key Stage 3 Curriculum

Key Stage 3 Curriculum (Years 7, 8)

The Key Stage 3 curriculum meets the requirements of the emerging national curriculum and ensures that all students are offered a broad and balanced curriculum covering all core and foundation subjects plus Citizenship and Philosophy and Ethics.

The core subjects are presently English, Mathematics and Science, which are compulsory across Key Stages 1 - 4.

  • Art and Design
  • Design and Technology (D&T)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information and communication technology (ICT)
  • Music
  • Modern Foreign Languages (MFL) (at Key Stage 3 only)
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Citizenship (at Key Stage 3)

Key Stage 3 Curriculum (Years 7, 8)

In the Spring Term, Year 8 students discuss with parents/carers and teachers their option choices for their GCSE courses. This is the transitional year. Core subjects of English, Maths, Science, PE, Philosophy & Ethics and Personal, Social, Citizenship and Health Education are compulsory. We have designed a curriculum which supports each student as an individual. We understand the need to provide wide ranging academic and vocational pathways and real choice for all students.

The school seeks to use both planned and unplanned learning experiences in and out of school to help shape all students’ mental, physical, cultural, moral and spiritual development. There are many lunchtime and after school clubs that are open to all students.