Skip to content ↓
The Buckingham School

The Buckingham School

9 -1 Grading for GCSEs 

In 2017, the new GCSE (9-1) grading came into effect, with 9 being the top grade. 

English Language, English Literature and Maths were the first subjects to use the new system, with most other subjects adopting numbers by 2019. Eventually all GCSEs taken in England will receive numerical grades.

This section of the website provides useful information to help parents understand and support their knowledge of the new GCSE Grades.

Useful Information and Links 

Letter Regarding Changes to Grades and Assessments

DfE Parental Factsheet 

9 - 1 Ofqual News

BBC article: